Difference between revisions of "UVLe User Roles"
|Line 3:||Line 3:|
Date: 14 April 2020
Date : 14 April 2020
== User Roles ==
== User Roles ==
Revision as of 01:50, 27 April 2020
|UVLe User Roles|
Date Updated: 14 April 2020
- 1 User Roles
- 1.1 Teacher
- 1.2 Teacher*
- 1.3 Co-Teacher
- 1.4 Non-Editing Teacher
- 1.5 Facilitator
- 1.6 Course Content Manager
- 1.7 Student
- 1.8 Super Student
- 1.9 Non-Graded Student
- 1.10 Guest
- 1.11 Authenticated User
- 1.12 Course Viewer
- 1.13 Manager
- 1.14 Assistant Manager
- 1.15 Course Creator
- 1.16 Web Services
- 1.17 Student Assistant
A user role is a collection of permissions defined for the whole system that you can assign to specific users in specific contexts.
Teachers can do anything within a course, including changing the activities and grading students.
A Basic teacher role reduces the number of available plugins, activities and resources to use on a course. It is recommended for users who are only starting to use UVLe to simplify their experience, Basic teachers can switch to normal mode any time.
Co-Teachers can also do anything within a course, including changing the activities and grading students. The only main difference is that co-teachers do not show up in the course search list (only the teachers do).
Non-editing teachers can teach in courses and grade students, but may not alter activities.
A facilitator is similar to a teacher but cannot make changes to the capabilities of the users in the course. It cannot assign other roles for users (like assigning super students), and cannot switch to other roles. It can grade or evaluate student output just like a normal teacher. The facilitator will not appear in the course search or list.
- co-faculty who will also manage the course but is not an assigned teacher of the course
- teaching assistants who are allowed to both edit and grade (unlike non-editing teachers who are only allowed to grade, or content managers who are only allowed to edit content)
- special role for specific activities where a user can be allowed to facilitate.
Course Content Manager
Course content managers are non-teachers/non-students who have the ability to add/edit/delete contents in the course such as Files, Pages, URLs and Label. This role does not have the ability to create activities that can be graded or require student submissions such as assignments, quizzes, forums, and workshops. They are also not allowed to handle course enrollments and group management.
Students generally have fewer privileges within a course.
These students have additional privileges within the course or certain activities they are assigned on like:
- rate or grade forum posts
- post replies at the news forum
In folder modules:
- edit Folder modules
- upload files or delete files into folder modules
Super students also have an increased file size quota limit compared to normal students.
- uploading large files (short videos)
- peer rating
- file resource sharing
Non-graded students are similar to normal students in a course, but they cannot be granted or assigned higher capabilities other than the ones they are allowed. They will also not appear in the grading sheet.
- sit-ins within a course other than just being guests. (Guests cannot participate in Activities, but non-graded students can)
- special role for specific activities where a user can be prevented from participating.
Guests have minimal privileges and usually can not enter text anywhere.
All logged in users.
Managers can access courses and modify them, they usually do not participate in courses.
A less powerful management role for categories. Usually for cohort and course management and not for teaching.
Course creators can create new courses and teach in them. They can also fully manage cohorts.
The student assistant have the following responsibilities:
- upload lecture files
- check Attendance/Monitor Checklist Activity
- upload and monitor forum activities
Student assistants are restricted to:
- access student's submissions
- access student's grades